Step By Step Guide To Delete Your Skype Account

skype-logoSkype is undoubtedly is one of the best VOIP applications and one of the widely used apps too. Launched in 2003 as voice call service and instant messaging service, it created a lot of buzz in the industry.

It is estimated that there are more than 300 million monthly active users, and the application has reached more than a billion downloads. Skype established a roadmap for voice and video communication and allowed people to have a face to face conversation with each other even if they are miles apart.

With Microsoft announcing that it would not provide support and would eventually retire the services of Skype for Business from July 31, 2021, most of them are looking to close their accounts on Skype. So, if you are one of those, then please read on.

Remember that while creating a skype account may seem easy, whereas deleting a skype account is not that simple. Yes, there is no single button like “Delete my skype account,” and your account gets deleted.

If you don’t follow the right procedures and delete your skype account, you might succeed in deleting your Skype account but lose your access to other Microsoft services like MS outlook, Xbox live account, etc.

But no need to worry, in this article, we’ll discuss how to delete your account without losing access to other Microsoft services using an easy to understand step by step guide. So, why wait, let’s jump in directly to the guide:

How to Delete Skype Account

skype-delete

As stated earlier, it is not a one-step process to delete your skype account. So, you need to follow the guidelines provided below exactly:

  • Unlink Your Microsoft Account From Skype
  • Remove Desktop Skype Account
  • Remove Mobile Skype Account
  • Protect Your Privacy

Unlink Your Microsoft Account From Skype

Before you go about removing your desktop and mobile skype accounts, it is vital to unlink your Microsoft account from Skype. Failure to do so will result in losing access to other Microsoft services. Since your Microsoft Account is linked to all other services like Xbox Live, Outlook, etc., once you delete one service, it automatically removes from other services too. So, you need to unlink your Microsoft account from skype first before deleting it. To unlink:

  • Open skype.com in your browser
  • Login to your skype account
  • Go to Settings & Preferences à Account Settings
  • Click the Unlink / Not Linked option to unlink your account
  • Click continue, and you have successfully unlinked your Microsoft account from Skype

Remove Skype Desktop Account

Now that you have unlinked your account from skype, you can proceed to the next step to delete your skype account on the desktop. Follow the steps provided exactly:

  • Launch your skype application in your system
  • You can see your skype name with your image on the top left
  • Click to open the settings page
  • Scroll down the page, and you can see “Close your Account
  • Click it and will ask for your skype id and password
  • Read the conditions listed and click “Next
  • Check all the relevant boxes and specify a reason for removing skype
  • Finally, check “Mark account for closure” link to delete your skype account
  • It takes a couple of minutes and finally gives a confirmation that your skype account is removed
  • But make sure that you use all your skype credits before closing your account
  • You can see all your remaining balance in your My Account section

Delete Mobile Skype Account

skype-app

If you are having a skype account only on your mobile phone and not on your desktop, please follow the steps outlined below. The steps are almost the same in both desktop and mobile phones, but anyway, we’ll list them below for reference.

  • Launch your skype application on your mobile phone
  • Click your skype name on the top to open settings
  • In the setting page, click “Close your Account” link
  • You will be asked to enter your user id and password
  • Once you provide your user credentials, it will list out certain conditions, just read it and click “Next
  • Check all the relevant boxes and specify a reason for removing skype
  • Lastly, check “Mark account for closure” link to delete your skype account
  • It only takes 2-3 minutes to confirm your skype account is removed

 

What to Do Before Closing Your Skype Account

So, now you have learned how to delete your skype account, if you want to save your contacts, better read this before you delete your skype account. Remember that the Skype premium version allows you to pay and buy some credits to use some services. So, it is important to ensure that you use all your remaining credits.

If you only have some credits left, why not waste it rather than using it till you empty it. After all, it is your hard-earned money and why do you need to waste it.

Some people also would have set their accounts to be recharged automatically. Make sure to cancel that option. If you don’t have your skype accounts backed up, better take a backup. You can easily export your skype accounts to your contacts directory.

Final Thoughts

So, you have succeeded in deleting your Skype account. Remember that deleting it also removes all data associated, including your contacts, chat history, and your purchases made, etc.

According to Microsoft, once your account is removed, it might take from 15-30 days to completely remove your name from the Skype directory. And after 30 days, others won’t be able to locate you on Skype, but you will be still listed in your friend’s contact list, but they can’t contact you whatsoever.