PoleStar Award Winners announced, honoring excellence in IT and Business Journalism in 2006

Mr. Kiran Karnik and Mr. Arun Jain, with the winners

PoleStar Foundation, an independent organization in India that honors the best Indian media professionals, has revealed the lucky winners of the Ninth Annual PoleStar Awards.

The PoleStar Award is not merely a trophy but a true credit in itself. Apart from the much coveted trophy, the winners walk home with a citation and a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000 for further education.

Mr. Kiran Karnik, President, NASSCOM presided over the function and gave away the prizes to the Indian journalists.

The Foundation received 125 nominations from journalists across India, Since the PoleStar Foundation focuses only and only on celebrating excellence in IT and Business Journalism in India, the jury team too comprised of big names from Corporate, Media and Academic sector, who selected winners in the categories of IT and Business Journalism.

  • Jury members for Ninth Annual Polestar Award:
  • Mr. B Santhanam – Managing Director, Saint Gobain
    Mr. Vishal Dhupar – Managing Director, Symantec Corporation
    Dr. Ashok Jhunjhunwala – Head of the Department, Electrical Engineering, IIT Chennai
    Dr. Ashok Korwar – CEO Coach
    Mr. Anand Parthasarathy – Consulting Editor (IT), The Hindu
    Mr. L Subramanyan – Head, Jasubhai Media
    Mr. Vijay Ramachandran – Editor, CIO magazine
    Mr. Anand Sudarshan – Head, Manipal group of Publications
    Mr. R Seshasayee – Managing Director, Ashok Leyland

    The winners of the Ninth Annual Polestar Award are:

  • Best Feature in IT Journalism:
  • Ms. Janani Gopalakrishnan, Freelance Writer and Consultant Editor, i.t. magazine, EFY group, Chennai, for her story, “Will men and machines walk this planet together?”

  • Best Feature in Business Journalism:
  • Ms. Archna Shukla, Deputy Features Editor, Mint, New Delhi, for her story, “Confessions of a rural marketer” published in Business Today

    The award titled, “Jury’s Special Recognition”, has been given to Ms. Sangeetha Chengappa, Senior Reporter, Deccan Herald, Bangalore.