7 Facebook Login Mistakes: Things you shouldn’t do

Facebook Login Mistakes

When Franklin said ‘Three can keep a secret if two are dead’, he wasn’t talking about passwords. Because things like your Gmail or Facebook passwords are meant to be kept better concealed than the worst kind of secrets and yet there will be people who just can’t hold onto them. Think you haven’t ever been guilty of revealing your password by accident? Our list of Facebook login mistakes that should be avoided like the plague will tell you if you’ve got another think coming.

1 – Don’t use easy passwords:

Starting with the most common ones first, don’t use an obvious password. And this is something people should be doing for any kind of online account, not just Facebook login. Don’t use your own name for a password even if it’s ‘cunningly’ complicated with special characters, uppercase letters and numbers. Take [email protected] for example. Names of pets, spouses, kids, houses and so on are also big no-nos. But make sure passwords aren’t so tough to remember, you end up writing it down on a piece of paper which is bound to get lost or storing it in a file on the PC, that’s again accessible by another person.

2 – Use different passwords for your e-mail accounts, other sites and Facebook login:

Have a security question asking you ‘What is the name of your favorite movie?’ and Hancock, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy or Die Hard listed among favorite movies on your profile page? Need we insist that you take time off to reconsider your security question? The information dropped into your Facebook profile can even threaten other accounts like Gmail or Yahoo! or any other site you log into. While we’re on the topic of all kinds of accounts, it’s plain common sense that people shouldn’t use the same password to log into different sites. If one of these accounts gets compromised, so do all the rest.

Facebook Login Error

3 – Remove hacked e-mail id from your Facebook account:

Even consider this – Facebook has two e-mail IDs, one of which was hacked into that you didn’t bother to or forgot to remove and the one you’re using at present. If you needed to reset your password for whatever reason, Facebook sends the reset code to all addresses associated with the account. Guess who else can now employ the reset code to hijack your Facebook account? So never forget to disassociate a compromised e-mail ID from your Facebook account.

4 – Don’t save username and password in the browser:

The next thing to know is that it’s not wise to enable login and password save on any PC, even your own. When a browser notification pops up asking for the password to be remembered, respond in the negative. Hell bent on saving those passwords anyway? At least use a master password to keep them away from prying eyes. In too much of a hurry to notice you’re going to Facebok.com, Faceboo.com or Facebooks.com instead of Facebook.com? Though intentionally misleading URLs imitating prominent sites get rooted out quick as blinking, it’s always smart to ensure you haven’t been directed to the wrong URL before signing up with your credentials.

Facebook Login Error 2

5 – Say “no” to remember me at login:

Next on our list is the admonition – uncheck the ‘Keep me logged in’ box when signing in to the SNS. Because if you do forget to sign out and close the tab by mistake, the next person to use the concerned browser and visit Facebook will have access to your account. You might as well hand out your login and password to the person using the PC after you’re done.

6 – Don’t click a Facebook link sent via e-mail:

Now, not everyone is an expert at telling if the Facebook notification sent to their e-mail ID is authentic or part of a phishing scam. It’ll save you some trouble if you avoid clicking a Facebook login link sent via e-mail and simply open the site in a new tab. There are some genuinely good fakers attempting to fool users for a reason. People are often gullible enough to fall for phishing bait now and then.

7 – Sign out of Facebook when you are done:

Sure, the Facebook ‘Like’ button is incredibly popular and Google +1 is just trying to catch up. Amidst all the enthusiastic ‘Check this out!’, a lot of web surfers forget that ‘liking’ a post on any website involves a pop up window asking them to log in to Facebook with their user name and password. As soon as this is done, the pop up disappears, possibly taking with it the memory of having signed into the SNS. So you’re done giving the thumbs up to this article and the next and look outside to see a warm sunny day inviting you for a stroll. The next thing to do is visit Facebook, marvel at the fact that you’ve stayed logged in without meaning to and then sign out of the social network after letting everyone know you ‘like’ some post or the other.

Still reading this post? Then you probably haven’t hit any of the aforementioned Facebook login mistakes or errors to actually feel the need to run off and change your password. Congratulations.