10 Security Tips Every Signal User Should Know

2Disappearing Messages

Signal Disappearing Messages

Your own messages can be used against you if you’re not careful enough. So while Signal will ensure that no intermediary is snooping in on your conversations, you can’t expect the person receiving them to be of the highest morals, can you?

[the_ad_placement id=”is-incontent-1″]

That’s where the feature of Disappearing Messages comes in. The Signal app allows you to have all your messages sent to particular chats get deleted automatically after they have been read.

To activate this feature, you need to tap on the contact name from within the app and tap on the toggle Disappearing Messages on the button. A slider will then appear, letting you choose the exact duration for which you wish the message to be visible to the receiver.

The time options can be 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, 6 hours, 12 hours, 1 day or 1 week. This configuration applies to all parties of a conversation, and the clock starts ticking for each recipient once they’ve read their copy of the message.

[the_ad_placement id=”is-above-pagination”]